Change the world

ACADEMIC CALENDAR: 2017

LECTURE BLOCKS

  • First teaching block: Monday 6 February – Friday 24 March (34 days)
  • Second teaching block: Monday 27 March – Friday 26 May (36 days)
  • Third teaching block: Monday 17 July – Friday 1 September (34 days)
  • Fourth teaching block: Monday 4 September – Friday 27 October (35 days)

NORMAL EXAMINATION PERIODS

  • First Semester: Wednesday 31 May – Tuesday 20 June (16 days)
  • Second Semester: Thursday 2 November – Wednesday 22 November (18 days)

RE-EXAMINATION PERIODS

  • January re-examinations: Monday 9 January – Tuesday 24 January (including extension of 2016 normal examinations)
  • February re-examinations: Thursday 9 February – Friday 17 February (during term time)
  • Second Semester: Monday 10 July – Friday 14 July
  • December re-exam: Monday 11 December – Wednesday 13 December

NOTE:

In the event of exams being disrupted, the University reserves the prerogative to extend the exam period for a reasonable time beyond the planned end of exams.

GRADUATION CEREMONIES

Autumn graduation

  • Thursday 30 March – Friday 31 March (George)
  • Tuesday 4 April – Tuesday 11 April (Port Elizabeth)

Summer graduation

  • Thursday 14 December 2017
  • Friday 15 December 2017

STUDENT RECESS PERIODS

  • 14 April – 23 April
  • 21 June – 16 July
  • 23 September – 1 October
  • 23 November – 31 December

* University re-opens: 3 January 2017

PUBLIC AND SCHOOL HOLIDAYS 2017

Semester 1 Sun 1 January New Year's Day
  Mon 2 January Public Holiday
Tues 21 March Human Rights Day
Fri 14 April Good Friday
Mon 17 April Family Day
Thurs 27 April Freedom Day
Fri 28 April University Holiday
Mon 1 May Workers’ Day
Fri 16 June Youth Day
Semester 2 Wed 09 August National Women's Day
  Sun 24 September Heritage Day
Mon 25 September Public Holiday
Sat 16 December Day of Reconciliation
Mon 25 December Christmas Day
Tues 26 December Day of Goodwill

SCHOOL HOLIDAYS (COASTAL SCHOOLS)

Term 1

  • Sat 1 April – Mon 17 April
  • Mon 20 March - School Holiday
  • Fri 28 April - School Holiday

Term 2

  • Sat 1 July – Sun 23 July

Term 3

  • Sat 30 September – Sun 8 October

Term 4

  • Thurs 7 December – Tues 16 Jan 2018