Change the world

ACADEMIC CALENDAR: 2018

LECTURE BLOCKS

  • First teaching block: Monday 5 February – Friday 23 March (34 days)
  • Second teaching block: Monday 26 March – Thursday 24 May (35 days)
  • Third teaching block: Monday 16 July – Friday 31 August (34 days)
  • Fourth teaching block: Monday 3 September – Friday 26 October (34 days)

NORMAL EXAMINATION PERIODS

  • First Semester: Monday 28 May – Friday 15 June (17 days)
  • Second Semester: Wednesday 31 October – Tuesday 20 November (18 days)

RE-EXAMINATION PERIODS

  • First Semester: Thursday 11 January – Friday 19 January
  • Second Semester: Monday 9 July – Friday 13 July
                                Wednesday 5 December – Friday 7 December (Pilot for Undergraduate Diplomas and Certificates)

 

NOTE:

In the event of exams being disrupted, the University reserves the prerogative to extend the exam period for a reasonable time beyond the planned end of exams.

GRADUATION CEREMONIES

Autumn graduation

  • Friday 13 April (George)
  • Tuesday 17 April – Thursday 26 April (Port Elizabeth)

Summer graduation

  • Wednesday 12 December – Friday 14 December

STUDENT RECESS PERIODS

  • Friday 30 March – Sunday 8 April
  • Saturday 16 June – Sunday 15 July
  • Saturday 29 September – Sunday 7 October
  • Wednesday 21 November – Monday 31 December

* University re-opens: Wednesday 3 January 2018

PUBLIC AND SCHOOL HOLIDAYS 2017

Semester 1 Mon 1 January New Year's Day
 
Wed 21 March Human Rights Day
Fri 30 March Good Friday
Mon 2 April Family Day
Fri 27 April Freedom Day
Mon 30 April University Holiday
Tues 1 May Workers’ Day
Sat 16 June Youth Day
Semester 2 Thurs 09 August National Women's Day
  Mon 24 September Heritage Day
Sun 16 December Day of Reconciliation
Mon 17 December Public Holiday
Tues 25 December Christmas Day
Wed 26 December Day of Goodwill

SCHOOL HOLIDAYS (COASTAL SCHOOLS)

Term 1

  • Thurs 29 March – Monday 9 April
  • Mon 30 April - School Holiday

Term 2

  • Sat 23 June – Mon 16 July
  • Sat 10 August – School Holiday

Term 3

  • Sat 29 September – Mon 8 October

Term 4

  • Thurs 13 December –