Change the world

ACADEMIC CALENDAR: 2019

LECTURE BLOCKS

  • First teaching cycle: Monday 11 February – Friday 05 April (35 days)
  • Second teaching cycle: Monday 08 April – Tuesday 28 May (34 days)
  • Third teaching cycle: Monday 22 July – Friday 06 September (34 days)
  • Fourth teaching cycle: Monday 9 September – Friday 01 November (35 days)

NORMAL EXAMINATION PERIODS

  • First Semester: Friday 31 May – Friday 21 June (17 days)
  • Second Semester: Tuesday 5 November – Tuesday 26 November (18 days)

RE-EXAMINATION PERIODS

  • Second Semester 2018: Monday 07 January 2019 - Tuesday 15 January 2019 (7 days) 
  • First Semester 2019: Monday 15 July 2019 – Friday 19 July 2019 (5 days)
  • Second Semester: Thursday 9 January 2020 – Friday 17 January 2020 (7 days)
                        

NOTE:

In the event of exams being disrupted, the University reserves the prerogative to extend the exam period for a reasonable time beyond the planned end of exams.

GRADUATION CEREMONIES

Autumn graduation

  • Friday 05 April (George)
  • Tuesday 09 April – Thursday 18 April (Port Elizabeth)

Summer graduation

  • Tuesday 10 December – Friday 13 December

STUDENT RECESS PERIODS

  • Saturday 16 March – Sunday 24 March
  • Saturday 22 June – Sunday 21 July
  • Saturday 21 September – Sunday 29 September
  • Wednesday 27 November – Monday 31 December

* University re-opens: Thursday 3 January 2020

PUBLIC AND UNIVERSITY HOLIDAYS 2019

Semester 1 Tues 1 January New Year's Day
 
Thurs 21 March Human Rights Day
Fri 19 April Good Friday
Mon 22 April Family Day
Sat 27 April Freedom Day
Wed 1 May Workers’ Day
Sun 16 June Youth Day
Mon 17 June Public Holiday
Semester 2 Fri 09 August National Women's Day
  Tues 24 September Heritage Day
Mon 16 December Day of Reconciliation
Wed 25 December Christmas Day
Thurs 26 December Day of Goodwill

 

SCHOOL HOLIDAYS

Term 1

  • Sat 16 March – Monday 01 April

Term 2

  • Sat 15 June – Mon 08 July

Term 3

  • Sat 21 September – Mon 30 September

Term 4

  • Fri 05 December –