Academic Calendar - 2020

UNIVERSITY OPENS

  • Monday 6 January 2020
  • Monday 4 January 2021

LECTURE BLOCKS

  • First teaching cycle: Monday 3 February – Friday 13 March (30 days)
  • Second teaching cycle: Monday 16 March – Friday 8 May (31 days)
  • Third teaching cycle: Monday 6 July – Friday 14 August (29 days)
  • Fourth teaching cycle: Monday 17 August – Friday 2 October (30 days)

NORMAL EXAMINATION PERIODS

  • First Semester: Wednesday 13 May – Friday 5 June (18 days)
  • Second Semester: Wednesday 7 October – Friday 30 October (18 days)

RE-EXAMINATION PERIODS

  • Second Semester 2019: Thursday 9 January  - Friday 17 January (7 days) 
  • First Semester 2020: Monday 29 June – Friday 3 July 2019 (5 days)
  • Second Semester 2020: Monday 16 November – Tuesday 24 November (7 days)               

NOTE:

In the event of exams being disrupted, the University reserves the prerogative to extend the exam period for a reasonable time beyond the planned end of exams.

GRADUATION CEREMONIES

Autumn graduation

  • Tuesday 14 April - Saturday 25 April (10 Days)
    *Graduation Sessions will be published in due course

Summer graduation

  • Tuesday 8 December – Saturday 12 December (5 Days)

STUDENT RECESS PERIODS

  • Saturday 21 March – Sunday 29 March (9 Days)
  • Saturday 6 June – Sunday 5 July (30 Days)
  • Saturday 19 September – Sunday 27 September (9 Days)
  • Saturday 31 October – Sunday 3 January 2021 (64 Days)

PUBLIC AND UNIVERSITY HOLIDAYS 2020

Semester 1 Wed 1 January New Year's Day
 
Sat 21 March Human Rights Day
Fri 10 April Good Friday
Mon 13 April Family Day
Mon 27 April Freedom Day
Fri 1 May Worker's Day
Mon 15 June University Holiday
Tue 16 June Youth Day
Semester 2 Sun 09 August National Women's Day
  Mon 10 August Public Holiday
Thurs 24 September Heritage Day
Fri 25 September University Holiday
Wed 16 December Day of Reconciliation
Fri 25 December Christmas Day
Sat 26 December Day of Goodwill

SCHOOL CALENDAR 2020

Term 1

  • Wed 15 January - Fri 20 March
  • Holiday  -  Sat 21 March - Mon 30 March

Term 2 

  • Tues 31 March - Fri 12 June
  • Holiday - Sat 13 June - Mon 6 July

Term 3

  • Tues 7 July - Fri 18 September
  • Holiday - Sat 19 September - Mon 28 September

Term 4

  • Tues 29 September - Tues 2 December
  • Holiday - Thurs 3 December