Academic Calendar - 2021

UNIVERSITY OPENS

Monday 04 January 2021

Monday 03 January 2022

TEACHING CYCLES, ASSESSMENT AND RECESS PERIODS

2020 Year-end End-of-module assessments Monday 18 January 2021 to Sunday 28 February 2021 24 Days
Recess Monday 1 March 2021 to Sunday 7 March 2021 7 Days
2020 Year-end End-of-module re-assessments Monday 8 March 2021 to Friday 12 March 2021 5 Days
Student Success Programme Monday 08 March 2021 to Friday 12 March 2021 5 Days
2021 First teaching cycle Monday 15 March 2021 to Friday 30 April 2021 31 days
2021 First teaching cycle recess Saturday 01 May 2021 to Sunday 09 May 2021 9 days
2021 Second teaching cycle Monday 10 May 2021 to Friday 18 June 2021 29 days
Study Period Saturday 19 June 2021 to Tuesday 22 June 2021 4 days
2021 Mid-year End-of-module assessments Wednesday 23 June 2021 to Tuesday 13 July 2021 18 days
2021 Second teaching cycle recess Wednesday 14 July 2021 to Sunday 25 July 2021 12 days
2021 Mid-year End-of-module re-assessments Monday 26 July 2021 to Friday 30 July 2021 5 days
2021 Third teaching cycle Monday 02 August 2021 to Friday 10 September 2021 29 days
2021 Third teaching cycle recess Saturday 11 September 2021 to Thursday 16 September 2021 6 days
2021 Fourth teaching cycle Friday 17 September 2021 to Friday 29 October 2021 30 days
Study Period Saturday 30 October 2021 to Tuesday 02 November 2021 4 days
2021 Year-end End-of-module assessments Wednesday 03 November 2021 to Tuesday 23 November 2021 18 days
2021 Fourth teaching cycle recess Wednesday 24 November 2021 to Sunday 09 January 2022 47 days
2021 Year-end End-of-module re-assessments Monday 10 January 2022 to Friday 14 January 2022 5 Days

 

MEDICAL SCHOOL TEACHING CYCLES AND ASSESSMENT AND RECESS PERIODS

Student Success Programme Monday 08 March 2021 to Friday 12 March 2021 5 Days
2021 First teaching cycle Monday 15 March 2021 to Friday 07 May 2021 36 Days
2021 First teaching cycle recess Saturday 08 May 2021 to Sunday 16 May 2021 9 Days
2021 Second teaching cycle Monday 17 May 2021 to Friday 09 July 2021 39 Days
2021 Second teaching cycle recess Saturday 10 July 2021 to Sunday 01 August 2021 23 Days
2021 Third teaching cycle Monday 02 August 2021 to Thursday 23 September 2021 38 Days
2021 Third teaching cycle recess Saturday 25 September 2021 to Sunday 03 October 2021 10 Days
2021 Fourth teaching cycle Monday 04 October 2021 to Friday 19 November 2021 35 Days
Study Period Saturday 20 November 2021 to Sunday 28 November 2021 9 Days
2021 Year-end End-of-module assessments Monday 29 November 2021 to Friday 03 December 2021 5 Days
2021 Fourth teaching cycle recess Saturday 04 December 2021 to Friday 31 December 2021 28 Days

 

SPECIAL RE-ASSESSMENT PERIOD

Third opportunity assessment: None

NOTE: In the event of exams being disrupted, the University reserves the prerogative to extend the exam period for a reasonable time beyond the planned end of exams.

 

GRADUATION CEREMONIES

Graduation for April 2020 In Absentia students (Port Elizabeth) Wednesday 24 March 2021 to Saturday 27 March 2021 4 days
Autumn graduation (George) Thursday 22 April 2021 to Friday 23 April 2021 2 days
Autumn graduation (Port Elizabeth) Wednesday 28 April 2021 to Friday 07 May 2021 8 days
Summer graduation Friday 10 December 2021 to Tuesday 14 December 2021 4 days

 

PUBLIC AND UNIVERSITY HOLIDAYS

First teaching cycle Friday 01 January 2021 New Year's Day
Second teaching cycle Sunday 21 March 2021 Human Rights Day
  Monday 22 March 2021 Public Holiday
  Friday 02 April 2021 Good Friday
  Monday 05 April 2021 Family Day
  Tuesday 27 April 2021 Freedom Day
  Saturday 01 May 2021 Workers’ Day
  Wednesday 16 June 2021 Youth Day
  Monday 09 August 2021 National Women's Day
Third teaching cycle Friday 24 September 2021 Heritage Day
Fourth teaching cycle Thursday 16 December 2021 Day of Reconciliation
  Saturday 25 December 2021 Christmas Day
  Sunday 26 December 2021 Day of Goodwill
  Monday 27 December 2021 Public Holiday